The Truth

Professor, did I tell you I was accepted into Kalamazoo

You ask, which career it is that I wish to pursue

Oh, uh, well … when I grow up I want to be …

Honestly? the answer beats me

I’m scared through that I don’t have a clue

*Writing 201: Poetry, Imperfect, Limerick, Enjambment

Today the AmeriCorps members at my site had a networking and Linkedin professional development sessions. Although I enjoyed the sessions, one downfall was that I felt pressured to have a crystal clear plan (the majority of which came from myself). I want to be ok not knowing what I want to do after my year of service is over, but the truth is that I don’t and put a lot of pressure on myself to have a perfect plan.

Step 1: Get to know myself

=-) Domonique

6 thoughts on “The Truth

  1. Domonique, I feel very much the same way. You don’t have to have a plan! A good friend of mine (who is a very accomplished doctor) told me that sometimes the best way to do what you’re meant to do is to just take whatever opportunities are available at the time. I feel pressure to have a sort of step by step road map to my “career destination” too, so I know exactly where you are coming from. Just relax and let this year of service be what it will be.

    Also, I’ve come to love your poems! You are such a fabulous author! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I enjoy the limerick. You should find an audience to hear it. Do you mean “scarred” or “scared” in the last line? I only ask because “scared straight” is a phrase used in the culture. With that in mind, I wonder if the line would sound truer if it went something like “I’m scared through that I don’t have a clue.” This is the first time in this group I’ve offered a revision. I’ll be quiet now. Thank you!

    Like

    1. I like the sound of scared through better than scared straight, and I had not considered the cultural context of the phrases I use. Thanks for the advice and good catch on scarred. I made the changes.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment