Why AmeriCorps?

A year ago I knew nothing about AmeriCorps, let alone that I would accept a position for after graduation. Toward the beginning of my senior year I spoke with someone about the difficulty he had finding a job post graduation, and the pressure of securing my own plans post-graduation started to set in. That conversation ended with him casually mentioning AmeriCorps as a post-graduation possibility.

Six months later, I looked up positions on the AmeriCorps website and began to seriously consider them as options. At this time, I knew very little about AmeriCorps. The little I did know included that AmeriCorps is the American version of the Peace Corps, most positions only require a year commitment, and the positions would likely involve working with low income and/or minority communities. All of these features were attractive to me. The year commitment would allow me more time to prep for graduate school, while also allowing me to connect my service experience to what I learned in undergrad as an African American Studies major. AmeriCorps seemed like the perfect medium. Finding a position that I could relate to personally, helping disadvantaged groups access higher education, was only icing on the cake.

=-) Domonique

Leave a Reply

