Welcome

Over the next year, I will be serving as an AmeriCorps VISTA with a non-profit that helps low income and minority students access quality education and develop into socially aware leaders. My role is to design and revise programs for this organization. As a beneficiary of several college readiness programs, I know the importance of organizations like the non-profit I will serve with, and I want to pay it forward.

This blog serves as a space to document and reflect upon my service experience. Throughout the next year I hope to share posts that will be all things service-related. These posts could range from reflecting upon the upcoming Pre-Service Orientation, exploring social issues I encounter, reflecting on living on an AmeriCorps stipend and more.

By the end of my service term I hope to be closer to choosing a career path. I recently graduated from college, and part of my motivation for joining AmeriCorps was the opportunity to apply what I learned in college to real world situations, grow professionally and explore possible career paths. I invite anyone who is interested in learning more about AmeriCorps, service or anyone else to join me on my journey of service and beyond.

=-) Domonique

Leave a Reply

